Skip to main content

David Bowie Rock 'N' Roll Star! Half-Speed Mastered LP

Ships from the UK

David Bowie’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Star! Charts Bowie’s journey to Ziggy Stardust. Starting with early home demos, through radio sessions and live performances, to session recordings, outtakes and alternate versions from the recording of The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust album.

The 1LP half-speed master which accompanies the 5CD+BR version features alternative takes and mixes including an alternative version of ‘Lady Stardust’, an unheard version of the deep-cut classic ‘Shadow Man’ and an up-tempo take of The Who’s ‘I Can’t Explain’, which he would later slow down and cover for the PIN-UPS album.

Track List

Side 1

  1. Hang On To Yourself (early Ziggy session take)
  2. Star (Take 5 alternative version)
  3. Lady Stardust (Take 1 alternative version)
  4. Shadow Man (Ziggy session version)
  5. The Supermen (Ziggy session version 2023 mix)
  6. Holy Holy (Ziggy session version alternative mix)
  7. Round And Round (alternative mix)

Side 2

  1. Velvet Goldmine (Ziggy sessions outtake 2022 mix)
  2. Looking For A Friend (Ziggy session version)
  3. It's Gonna Rain Again (Ziggy sessions outtake)
  4. Sweet Head (Ziggy sessions outtake 2022 mix)
  5. Starman (Top Of The Pops version 2022 mix)
  6. John, I'm Only Dancing (alternative Trident Studios version)
  7. I Can't Explain (Trident Studios version)